The role of Empathy in Physiotherapy!

https://i0.wp.com/ec.l.thumbs.canstockphoto.com/canstock1598429.jpg

Empathy is a complex word that is often misused and often times misunderstood.  I thought I understood empathy and was practicing it every time I had a patient, but after my interaction with the learning resource this week I realized that there is more to empathy than putting yourself in the place of another person, or telling someone that I do understand how you feel because it is impossible to as feeling is subjective.

I am not much of a writer so I will borrow this expression on empathy

“Be someone else, It takes great empathy to create a good experience. To create relevant experiences, you have to forget everything you know and design for others. Align with the expected patience , level of interest, and depth of knowledge of your users. Talk in the users language.” Niko Nyman

This is what I would call empathy. Letting go of ourselves and putting our self in the place of the patient and trying to feel and understand what the patient is going through. By bringing our selves to the level of the patient we will be able to form that connection that will allow empathy to take place. I know that this is scary as it puts one in a state of vulnerability and no one likes to feel vulnerable but this is the only way to connect with our patients.

We don’t deal with customers or clients let alone users but we deal with patients that are vulnerable and who have put all their trust and confidence in us. For the success of our treatment and career  we need to develop empathy as it has been illustrated that the art of healing is in part made up of a therapeutic use of oneself or a therapeutic presence for patients. This presence is more than knowledge and skill alone, it is also composed of compassionate understanding of a patient and a communication that the therapist is worthy of the trust that the patient has bestowed……….empathy enhances the process of healing (Davis, 1990). We can not do away with empathy. It has a major role to play in our discipline. We can never be effective without empathy.

But the question that may arise is, how can one maintain their sanity at the end of the day if they are sharing the burden of 10 patients in a day? I think this is where the keeping of professional distance comes to play. We need to learn to separate us from the problems of our patients or avoid becoming emotionally attached to our patients because this may prevent us from making objective decisions, thereby leading to emotional burnout at the end of the day.

Before I close I would like to leave you with this beautiful poem about empathy

Can I see another’s woe,
And not be in sorrow too?
Can I see another’s grief,
And not seek for kind relief?

Can I see a falling tear,
And not feel my sorrow’s share?
Can a father see his child
Weep, nor be with sorrow filled?

Can a mother sit and hear
An infant groan, an infant fear?
No, no! never can it be!
Never, never can it be!

William Blake

6 thoughts on “The role of Empathy in Physiotherapy!

  1. This is the second post I’ve seen that makes reference to vulnerability. I believe that opening yourself up to the possibility of experiencing fully what it is to be human is also one of the most difficult things for us to do. As professionals we often think that it is our duty to always be right, to be strong, to have the answers to all questions. In other words, to be invulnerable. I think one of the reasons for that is that those responsible got teaching health care professionals don’t model vulnerability because they believe that it does weakness. Interestingly, I believe that showing vulnerability actually makes you stronger. You can be who you are without worrying about what others think. Thanks for giving me something to think about.

    • That is very true Michael. Vulnerability has always been shown in the negative light ie a sign of weakness but it is also important to remember that vulnerability is the birth place of joy, love,peace, empathy and many positive experiences in life. Once we acknowledge that as human beings we are vulnerable, we will not worry about what others will think about us but I will be me.

  2. Hi Emma, what a great post, well done! Absolutely agree with “By bringing our selves to the level of the patient we will be able to form that connection that will allow empathy to take place”.

    Also, such a lovely poem by William Blake. It reminded me a bit of the words in the striking poem by EE Cummings that I first heard in the movie “In Her Shoes” which is quite fitting to us discussing human connection, understanding and empathetic engagement:

    “Here is the deepest secret nobody knows…
    Here is the root of the root,
    And the bud of the bud,
    And the sky of the sky,
    Of a tree called life.
    Which grows higher than soul can hope or mind can hide.

    And this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart…

    I carry your heart.
    I carry it in my heart.”

    Full poem: http://www.goodreads.com/author/quotes/10547.E_E_Cummings

    • Thanks Chantelle, and what a beautiful poem.I wish I had that courage to say that “I carry your heart in my heart”. I guess I have vulnerability issues 😦 If only the world had that mentality, that your problem is my problem also, the world would have been a better place. Luckily we can change that. It can start with me and all the people that are doing this course, Imagine what a difference we can bring to the health sector!

      CHANGE WE CAN!…….Obama:)

  3. Hey emma nice post, only one thing makes me think here. You mention that we must have empathy but we must keep our professional distance and not get emotionally attached, which i totally agree with.
    Looking at the articles description of empathy it describes the 1st stage as self-transposal, then identification which is followed by sympathy. It makes me think that if someone is getting emotionally attached then they are stuck in the identification stage and have not fully achieved empathy.
    Had a person reached the sympathy stage then they would have understanding about the patient but they would know where “they themselves” stand and where their emotions are. This makes me wonder then do we ever experience true empathy?

    • Thanks Dylan for the comment. You are not alone if you are wondering whether if we have ever experienced true empathy. I find empathy to be complicated and I like the example that the feeling of empathy has been likened to falling in love. You can not determine that I am going to fall in love tomorrow but retrospectively you can say ah! I fell in love. You can not plan to show empathy but you can develop other skills that will help you to achieve empathy. This is so complicated just as love is that is what it is scary.

Leave a comment